How to Child-Lock Your iPhone or iPad

How to Child Lock Your iPhone or iPad

We live in a day and age where technology is everywhere. I used to be amazed that little children could properly use gadgets that took me a while to figure out, but I realize that they have been around these things since birth. It’s almost like it’s in their DNA!

But with their ability to maneuver through your iPhone, they could also get into apps that you would rather they didn’t.

In my case, I would give the iPad to Emma to watch a movie while on long road trips. At first it was enough to just set it at her feet and she would watch peacefully, but she now wants to hold and touch it. It got to the point that every 30 seconds I’d hear “Uh-oh!” because she had X-ed out of whatever I had set up for her.

Now that I know how to child-lock my iPhone and iPad I don’t have to worry this!

Here’s how to do it:  

Settings > General > Accessibility > Guided Access

Turn “Guided Access” on by pressing the button so that it’s green. (Guided Access = Child Lock)

Turn “Accessibility Shortcut” on by pressing the button so that it is green as well.

From this point, you can choose a passcode to use each time you turn Guided Access (Child Lock) on you use the same 4-digit passcode. This is what I do because my 2-year-old doesn’t know how to click the right numbers.

Otherwise, you can choose to set a different passcode each time you turn the Guided Access on. Either way, in order to get out of Guided Access, you need the correct 4-digit passcode.

You can also set time limits if you only want your child playing with the iPhone or iPad for a certain amount of time.

Now you have it turned on!

To use Guided Access do the following:

Triple-click the home button (the circle at the bottom) to enable it. If you don’t have a permanent passcode, you will set one now. Otherwise you’ll have a pop-up that says “Guided Access Started.”

Triple-click again and put in your passcode if you want to circle areas of the screen you want disabled. You can edit and delete these circles, but they’re nice to use in certain apps. For example, if I have Skype on with grandma, I’ll disable the end button so that she can’t end the call.

When you’re done with that, click “Resume” in the upper-right corner.

To exit Guided Access, triple-click again and click “End” in the upper-left corner.

TA-DA!

Hopefully this helps! Let me know if you have any questions!

Kristen

3 thoughts on “How to Child-Lock Your iPhone or iPad

Let me know what you think!

